District Digest News Stories

Corps of Engineers, SEPA and shareholders sign memorandum of agreement

Published Aug. 4, 2011

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Aug. 4, 2011) —The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Nashville District joins forces with the Department of Energy, Southeastern Power Administration and their preference customers on Aug. 9, 2011 at a ceremonial signing of a Memorandum of Agreement in Robinsonville, Miss.

The signed Memorandum of Agreement allows SEPA, the organization who markets the Corps’ hydropower, to forward preference customer funds for the rehabilitation, non-routine maintenance, and modernization of the Corps’ hydropower projects in the Nashville District. In the next 20 years SEPA looks to direct more than $1.2 billion into the Corps’ projects including the 28 hydropower generators the Corps operates and maintains.

"This is an exceptional opportunity for advancement and growth for the Corps of Engineers, SEPA and preference customers," said David Mistakovich, chief of Hydropower at the Nashville District.

This coalition has been in the works for many years according to representatives from the Federal organizations and the preference customers. This agreement will guarantee low cost energy for customers while also providing up-to-date equipment. Power from the Corps units are generated for residents living in Tennessee, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, Alabama, Georgia, Virginia, and Illinois.

"This is an excellent example of the cooperation and coordination among two Federal agencies and preference customers to rehabilitate the hydroelectric projects on the Cumberland River," said Ken Legg, administrator of SEPA.

Representatives include:

Southeastern Power Administration; Corps of Engineers; Barbourville Utility Commission, City of Barbourville, Kentucky; Benham Power Board, City of Benham, Kentucky; Big Rivers Electric Corporation; City of Bardstown, Kentucky;City of Bardwell, Kentucky; City of Falmouth, Kentucky; City of Nicholasville, Kentucky; City of Paris, Kentucky; City of Providence, Kentucky; Corbin Utilities Commission, City of Corbin, Kentucky; East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Inc.; Frankfort Plant Board, City of Frankfort, Kentucky; French Broad Electric Membership Corporation; Haywood Electric Membership Corporation, North Carolina; Henderson Municipal Power & Light, City of Henderson, Kentucky; Madisonville Municipal Utilities, City of Madisonville, Kentucky; Mississippi Delta Energy Agency (MDEA); Municipal Energy Agency Of Mississippi (MEAM); Owensboro Municipal Utilities, City of Owensboro, Kentucky; Paducah Power System, City of Paducah, Kentucky; Princeton Electric Plant Board, City of Princeton, Kentucky; South Mississippi Electric Power Association (SMEPA); Southern Illinois Power Cooperative; Town of Waynesville, North Carolina;

For more information about the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nashville District, visit the district’s website at www.lrn.usace.army.mil, on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/nashvillecorps and on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/nashvillecorps.