US Army Corps of Engineers
Nashville District Website

NR 21-19: Cheatham Lock undergoing series of navigation closures

Nashville District Public Affairs
Published April 16, 2021
The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nashville District announces that Cheatham Lock at Cumberland River mile 148.6 is undergoing a series of closures from April 22 through July 23. (USACE Photo by Amber Jones)

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nashville District announces that Cheatham Lock at Cumberland River mile 148.6 is undergoing a series of closures from April 22 through July 23. (USACE Photo by Amber Jones)

ASHLAND CITY, Tenn. (April 16, 2021) – The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nashville District announces that Cheatham Lock at Cumberland River mile 148.6 is undergoing a series of closures from April 22 through July 23.  

According to Tadd Potter, Cheatham Lake Resource manager, maintenance workers are going to be cutting slots for stoplogs that require complete closure of the lock. There are also periods scheduled where the lock is going to be open with restrictions, Potter added.

Maintenance officials indicate that valve work begins April 21 with two separate two-day closures to take place at undetermined dates. They plan to provide a one-week notice prior to these closures. Work commences at 6 a.m. each day.

During the time of restricted openings, there is going to be a dewatering box protruding into the chamber approximately nine feet. To safely pass cargo through the chamber during the restricted openings, the following rules must be followed.

  • Total dimensions of the boat and tow shall not be greater than 70-feet wide and 795-feet long.
  • Normal size barges passing through doublewide during the restricted opening will have 31-feet of clearance.
  • Chemical and fuel barges can only pass through single wide during the restricted opening and have 47-feet clearance.
  • A helper boat is required to guide tows past the restricted area going up and downstream.

There is no guarantee recreational boats are going to be allowed to lock through during the open periods.  The Secretary of the Army has established the following priority for passing vessels though Locks.

  1. U.S. Government Fleet vessels
  2. Commercial passenger vessels
  3. Commercial tows or vessels
  4. Recreational boats

The lock is expected to return to operation 6 a.m. July 23, 2021 after completion of the project. The schedule can change due to unforeseen circumstances, including weather delays, high water, and unexpected mechanical issues.

“We are doing our best to provide as much information about this maintenance effort and lock closure as possible so boaters and barge traffic that move up and down the river can plan accordingly,” Potter said.

This is the closure schedule (current as of April 16, 2021):

Task Name

Duration

Start

Finish

Culvert Valve Repair

18 Days

Wed 04/21/21

Sun 05/09/21

  Lock Closed

1 Day

Wed 04/21/21

Wed 04/21/21

  Lock Fully Open

 

Thu 04/22/21

Sun 05/09/21

  Lock Closed

2 Days

TBD

TBD

  Lock Closed

2 Days

TBD

TBD

Upper Closure Phase 1

7 Days

05/10/2021

05/16/2021

Lock Closed

4 Days

05/10/2021

05/13/2021

Lock Open with Restrictions

3 Days

05/14/2021

05/16/2021

Upper Closure Phase 2

15 Days

Mon 05/17/21

Sun 05/31/21

   Lock Closed

11 Days

Mon 05/17/21

Thu 05/27/21

   Lock Open with Restrictions

4 Days

Fri 05/28/21

Mon 05/31/21

Upper Closure Phase 3

13 Days

Tue 06/1/21

Sun 06/13/21

   Lock Closed

10 Days

Tue 06/01/21

Thu 06/10/21

   Lock Open with Restrictions

3 Days

Fri 06/11/21

Sun 06/13/21

Upper Closure Phase 4

14 Days

Mon 06/14/21

Sun 06/27/21

   Lock Closed

11 Days

Mon 06/14/21

Thu 06/24/21

   Lock Open with Restrictions

3 Days

Fri 06/25/21

Sun 06/27/21

Upper Closure Phase 5

15 Days

Mon 06/28/21

Mon 07/0/21

   Lock Closed

5 Days

Mon 06/28/21

Thu 07/01/21

   Lock Open with Restrictions

10 Days

Fri 07/02/21

Sun 07/11/21

Upper Closure Phase 6

3 Days

Mon 07/12/21

Thu 07/15/21

   Lock Closed

11 Days

Mon 07/12/21

Thu 07/22/21

   Lock Open Project Complete

 

Friday 07/23/21

 

 

(The public can obtain news, updates and information from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nashville District on the district’s website at www.lrn.usace.army.mil, on Facebook at www.facebook.com/nashvillecorps and on Twitter at www.twitter.com/nashvillecorps. The public can also follow and receive Cheatham Lock updates at www.facebook.com/cheathamlake.)


Contact
Lee Roberts
615-736-7161
chief.public-affairs@usace.army.mil

Release no. 21-025